Next Steps

Day 15 is finally here

This challenge has changed my life in ways I never thought possible. Because Natalie Sisson took the time to put this challenge out and I bravely took up that challenge, I have written more blogs than I thought I could. I have also made connections with other amazing bloggers and entrepreneurs, people who have generously taken me into their groups and helped me along.

My favorite

Natalie wants to know what my favorite lesson was from the challenge. There were about five that really resonated with me – key tools, habits, the one thing, plan your year and outsource. I have given more thought to these since the challenges were issued and while my business is still in the incubation phase, I feel more powerful and focused than I thought I could. Like I mentioned before, I am busy – just like all of you. I like being busy, but it does mean that I don’t always achieve my goals for the day or week. But I now have a system for keeping track of what needs to be done (Asana) and it reminds me, gently, that there are tasks for me to accomplish. My over all favorite lesson was Day 8 – plan your year. I have planned big benchmarks for my business that I never dreamed of putting on paper so soon. By looking at my year, I have also realized how important it is to plan my time off. I still have a day job that requires advanced planning for vacations, and because I’m in California, I don’t lose my vacation at the end of the year like my Arizona colleagues do (they often procrastinate planning until they realize they are all going to lose their vacations in August and frantically ask for time off for August in June.) In order to ensure that I get my vacations on the books, I need to plan it out well in advance. My husband and I have taken this challenge – we recently discussed travel plans for Summer 2017! This little change has given me control over my calendar. Not only do I know what needs to be done, I know when the breaks are!

Not really over

While the official 15-day Blog Challenge is over, my challenge is just beginning. I have lofty goals, some that need to be realized before October, and I know that I have a way to make that happen. I plan to continue blogging and learning about this online world, and I hope you will join me!
Thank you, Natalie!

Next stop: Freedom Plan

IMG_0673

15 thoughts on “Next Steps

  1. Planning ahead is one of the most satisfying things you can do for your business Lori Ann, just to have a plan on paper seems to make it more “real”. It is great that you found a challenge that helped move you so far forward in the way you are doing things for your business, looking forward to seeing continued success in your business. 🙂

    Like

    • I am working on the outsourcing as well (as the business plan I mentioned to Ian) as I know I cannot do this all myself. Lucky for me, one of my business partners just returned to the States…time to put her to work!

      Like

  2. Congrats on taking on Natalie’s challenge and really being in it and then experiencing the benefit for you Lori Ann. Planning for a year, sounds very expansive. I can plan, yet I also realize the changeable nature of our world and have learned to pivot and change directions when necessary. It will be interesting for you to witness how the next year unfolds and to keep seeing the subtle and not so subtle shifts that happen for you and then those around you. Enjoy the journey!

    Like

  3. Good for you for sticking with the challenge. It’s such an amazing feeling when you accept and meet a challenge!! It seems like the planning you’re doing also lets you have time for spontaneity – planning to be spontaneous sounds like an oxymoron, but in actuallty planning lets you take advantage of free time to explore interests and opportunities. Keep on writing, challenging yourself, and succeeding!!

    Like

  4. Hi Joy,

    Awesome post! It is so exciting when you complete a challenge! Yeah! Planning is so important 🙂 I am happy that you are continuing and making it more challenging for you that is the only way we learn the skills we need for success 🙂

    Like

  5. Congratulations for completing the challenge! That’s amazing! Planning is very important. I heard from one of “Entrepreneur On Fire” Podcasts that if you are not sure what activities you need to focus on, you can ask yourself “Is it important for me or my business in 5 days?”, “Is important in 5 months? or “Is it important in 5 years?” We always want to focus on activities that matter to us in 5 years. That’s where planning comes in, I think. thank you for sharing!

    Like

  6. Business success is about a few things. One: Know what you do and who your ideal client are. Two: Creating a plan Three: Executing the plan Four: Measuring it. Five: Correcting it.

    I think you’ve just inspired my next blog. 🙂

    Like

    • Nice and succinct! You may have inspired mine, although our business is still in planning and kind of a “secret”, I think I will still work through some of my steps here over the next few days.

      Like

  7. Pingback: Choose a Path | joyjourneynow

Leave a Reply

